#CLEmarathon half training – week 2

Nothing exciting over here, though it’s sunny and maybe only minus 2 today. It’s a lot of exercise, but so far it hasn’t been hard to fit in.

Sunday – long run –  The long, slow, run that wasn’t slow (in an elated state, I wrote about it here).

Monday – gym night

Tuesday – 5 km – An incredibly slow and painful morning venture. I felt the opposite of everything I felt on Sunday. I’m not a great morning runner, and some combo of that, weakness after Sunday’s enthusiasm, and the gym the night before made this a truly unrewarding slog.

Wednesday – 4.5 km – Evening runs are always better. And I managed to work an errand and a quick visit to a friend into the route. A destination sure helps!

Thursday – 5.8 km –  Average pace of 6:47/km a little faster than I’ve been, though still not very consistent.

Screenshot of my running app's timing. Six blue bars represent the pace of each kilometer. The blue bars are different lengths, signaling that I did not run at a consistent pace.

Then again, the only kilometre that’s a real outlier  is the one down a hill—so perhaps I’m not so far off?

Friday – Rest – And lo, not a kilometre was run that night.

Saturday – Cross training – My mom and her partner invited us to go skiing with them at Horseshoe Valley. Umm, yes! It was sunny and not too crowded when we got there, and only about -4. Perhaps unsurprisingly, towards the afternoon my glute started hurting. Oh, and also everything else.

A close-up shot of two people (myself and my husband) on a chair lift. We are both smiling at the camera, wearing oversized goggles and helmets.

Wrapping up week 2 on the slopes!

 

Leave a Reply

