#CLEmarathon half training – weeks 3 & 4

I had my first fall-off-the-wagon day (i.e. didn’t do the training I was supposed to do). I dreaded this happening, because I worried it might be a slippery slope. Welp, it happened, and it wasn’t. I sucked at training for a little while, and then I got the motivation to stop sucking, and I’m back at it.

Week 3 (March 8-14)

Sunday (March 8) – 7.5 km – I was worried about how my legs would feel the day after my first ski of the season and, well, yup. They hurt. But the weather was glorious and I had a very exciting destination in mind (Nadege for Croissunday!), so once I loosened up, around the start of kilometre 4, this was a great run.

 

Photo of two white women in black tank tops. They are looking a bit smugly at the camera. The one on the left Ainsley) has red hair and wears a pink toque. The one on the right, me, has long hair and a yellow toque.

What I wish we wore to the gym.

Monday – gym night – My friend Ainsley has almost the exact combination of determination and blase distaste for the gym. We got married within a month of each other and did a lot of planning (and bitching and moaning) on the JCC elliptical trainers in the months leading up to our big days. Now that we’re wives on budgets, we hang out at the Planet Fitness in Galleria Mall. I am lucky to have her in my workout corner.

Tuesday – morning 5km – This was less brutal than last week, but still a fairly miserable slog. Given my Sunday long run/Monday night gym combo, I would definitely benefit from pushing this to the evening, but choir calls! I just…I hate running in the morning. I never warm up, and running on empty just feels like crap.

Wednesday – …. – Whoops. If I wanted to really stretch the definition of cross-training, I’d say I took a half hour walk and a 15 minute bike ride. An 8 PM meeting (over drinks!) put the lid on an evening run.

Thursday – 6.7 km – I didn’t get home from work til 7, but I still managed to watch the glorious sky change colour along St. Clair during this run. The week after daylight savings time is rough, but the longer evening is such a gift.

Friday and Saturday were flops, and that’s all there is to say about that. Friday’s excuses were pretty stacked and buyable. I’ve got nothing but an embarrassed shrug for Saturday.

Week 4 (March 15-21)

Sunday – 8.6 km & gym – Back on my A game. Breakfast of oatmeal and coffee, then a long run at a fairly even pace. Home for a smoothie and some kale salad, laundry, trip prep (10 days to go!). Then an evening at the gym on the weight machines. Lots of abs.

A photo of a road next to railway tracks. On the right of the road is a factory. To the left of the road and further away are two tall apartment towers. The sky takes up two thirds of this photo and is very blue, with white clouds.

Sunday run along the West Toronto Railpath

 

Monday – 7 km – This was one of those runs that just felt great. I was properly fueled, it was raining but not too hard, I had a lot on my mind, and I just ran and thought and planned and it was three quarters of an hour of perfect simplicity. It was a “why I run” run. Coming home to find my husband had opened a bottle of wine and put on some oxtail stew and gnocci didn’t hurt my vibe either.

An overhead photo of a bowl of pasta, with a glass of wine next to it.

Points for taste and presentation to Jonathan.

Tuesday – rest

Wednesday – gym night – Ainsley and I did some stretching and sit-ups, then a medium-intense 30 minute bicycle (non-recumbent–is that what spinning is?)

Thursday – 6 km –  Absolutely miserable. The opposite of Monday— a run where nothing felt good at all the entire time. I’m proud of myself for not quitting, because I really, really wanted to. I’m not sure what was up—a bit of PMS, legs tired from cycling, improper fueling (though I felt I had some good snacks!), maybe just one of those random off-nights. Anyway, I got home and felt very glad I had a couple of easy days ahead.

Self-taken photo of me in a long mirror. I am dressed up to run, but frowning.

Don’t wanna run

Friday – rest – Did 45 minutes of walking. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Saturday – 8.4 km –  Decided to do my long run a day early, as we’re having overnight guests whose presence…erm…probably won’t encourage going to bed at a reasonable hour tonight. I wasn’t super in the mood so I listened to music, a rarity, and set a destination (the city’s best liquor store, wahoo!). And then the sun came out and everything felt great, except I had to pee the whole damn time.

I made pretty good time (for me), with an average pace of 6:34/km! I’m realizing  I need a lot of warm-up to feel good while I’m out.

I’m heading to Portland on Wednesday for a week, then two weeks of vacation in California. I’m really, truly planning to keep this schedule up while we’re out west, but nervous I might have too good a time…

 

Leave a Reply

