The Productivity Planner 

I’m trying out a new journal, The Productivity Planner. At first glance, it seemed awfully similar to the Self Journal I used earlier this year- right down to font choices! But it’s not really a good comparison; these two journals take very different approaches to managing time and intentions.

Where the Self Journal covers a 12-week period and wants you to think through and break down big goals, the Productivity Planner is six months of task-focused pages, with a weekly planning page that’s supposed to feed directly into your daily pages, as well as a weekly reflection. There’s room for six tasks a day, ranked in order of importance, and the Pomadoro technique is integrated into every task. 

This isn’t to say you couldn’t use the Productivity Planner to work on big projects; you’ll just need to keep much of the big picture stuff in another place. The focus here is on what you’re going to do today.

I really enjoyed using the Self Journal, and I am missing the morning and evening gratitude and reflections it incorporates, as well as the daily scheduling section, which leaves plenty of white space for notes. But it’s pricey, and all that white space makes it quite big. More importantly, I’ve just completed two big projects (Books platform beta release and a half marathon), and am now facing a summer of projects that are either nose-to-the-grindstone-with-no-end-in-sight types or just-getting-started-and-so-open-ended-who-knows-what-the-goals-are types. I think it’ll be a pretty fun combination, and that it lends itself to the bit-by-bit Productivity Planner structure quite well. 

It doesn’t hurt that this planner is significantly cheaper and available at your favourite bookstore-turned-cultural-department-store.

Unlike the Self Journal, which I carted around and used on and off from 7 AM til 10 PM, I’m keeping the Productivity Planner on my desk at work, and not using it for any non-work life tracking. 
My first day was not bad – I used the TeamViz pomadoro app I already use for tackling anything that’s daunting and got through five out of six tasks. I’m going to see what kind of a routine I can develop, and I’ll report back! 

Leave a Reply

